It’s been a while…

Standard

Yes, I’ve done it again!  The past almost year has flown by and I’ve not been writing.  Or nothing significant enough to post here.  Life got in the way – again!

It’s a familiar enough story. Each missed week leads to another, and then suddenly it’s been months. Those months haven’t  been empty. On the contrary, they’ve been very, very full.  Teaching, reading, walking, holidays, cooking, time with family, time with friends, sewing, knitting (yes, very relaxing, apart from when it goes horribly wrong!), yoga, meditation, treatments, just being…….the most important of all!  The spring and summer have all rolled by, and now here we are in autumn, and there’s been no writing at all!  A few weeks ago, my son saw this pencil case in a shop and said I should get it….

http://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0658/4527/products/small_pencil_case_-_front_no_swing_tag_1024x1024.jpg?v=1440414019

I didn’t, but it has been in my mind ever since – time to start writing again.  It’s not that it leaves a gap – of time – in my life (far from it!) but that it leaves a more indiscernible gap,  that I can only ignore for so long before I find I must start again! This time, to some extent, the creative gap has been filled by the attempt to refresh my wardrobe with handmade clothes – 2 skirts so far, plus some sailor trousers for my son’s school play, plus a dress and a jumper on the way – and the using-my-brain gap has been filled with studying for a certificate in mental health awareness – but really there is no more putting it off, I need to write as well.  About the things that matter to me, health, wellbeing, yoga, meditation, creativity.  More than 24 hours in the day would be nice, but I at least promise to myself to try to fit everything in.  And when I don’t (that’s daily, then!), to at least make sure it’s not the writing that gets pushed out every single day.  And then maybe I should consider this pencil case instead!

 

 

 

Leave a reply

